9 Pollution Tips
Stenciling Storm Drains
Adopt-A-Block &
Adopt-A-Stream Program
Good Neighbor & Good Business Award

Public Involvement and Participation

Be An Everyday Environmental Hero


The Good Neighbor and Environmental Hero Awards recognize volunteers who have made significant contributions to the City and County of Honolulu’s Storm Water Quality programs.

Volunteer efforts by these clean water heroes include:

  • Creating awareness of storm water pollution and water quality issues in streams and the ocean. 
  • Educating and informing specific audiences about impacts of storm water pollution. 
  • Actively engaging in best management practices, such as cleaning up a stream or City block, to reduce pollutants in storm water runoff. 
The recipients of these awards are citizens, businesses, schools, community groups, and government agencies who have partnered together to foster positive changes in their communities to protect the environment.

2012 Award Recipients

Good Neighbor Award Recipients

American Society of Civil Engineers
Anne Miller
Army Corp of Engineers
Assets School
Boys and Girls Club Waianae
Castle High School
Dr. Barry Brennan
East Manoa Lions Club
First Insurance Company
Hawaii Job Corp
Hawaii Water Environment Association
Howard A'i
Institute For Human Services
John Sadowski
Kamaaina Kids
Kamehameha Middle School
Lisa Watkins-Victorino
Malama Learning Center
Malama Manoa
Malama Maunalua
Navy Region Hawaii Environmental Outreach Office
Oahu Resource Conservation and Development Council
Palolo Valley Homes
Pearl City Lions Club
Pride In Moiliili
Ty Onuma
Vince Tenorio
Waikiki Aquarium
Weed and Seed Site II Kalihi YMCA
Weinberg Village

Board of Water Supply
Department of Information Technology
Department of Parks and Recreation
Honolulu Police Department District 5 Weed and Seed
Honolulu Police Department District 6
Representative Calvin Say
State of Hawaii Department of Health

Environmental Hero Award Recipients

Aqua Engineers, Kevin Nakamura
Army Corp of Engineers, Angela Jones
Assets School, Jason Wagner
Boy Scouts of America, Chris Swider
Boys and Girls Club Waianae, Lana Keamo
Castle High School, Shiloh Richardson
Castle High School Complex ASA, Cory DeJesus
East Manoa Lions Club, Garrett Ogawa
Eileen Ward
Farrington High School, Ronald Oyama
First Insurance Company, Liane Ching
Halau Ku Mana, Trevor Atkins
Haunani Ho
Hawaii Baptist Academy, Lynne Nakano
Hawaii Water Environment Association, Lori Morikami
HECO/Education & Consumer Affairs, Liane Lum
Holomua Elementary, Sheri Kam
Hon Blue, Joy Yee
Hui Wa’a Kaukahi kayak club, Kenneth Frey
I Love China Town, Skye White
I Love China Town, James Tennant
Institute For Human Services, November Morris
Institute For Human Services, Darren Castellano
Iolani School, Skylar Lotomau
Iolani School, Allison Ishii
Jarret Middle School, Patrick Nishi
Kaiser High School, Dylan Ramos
Kaiulani Elementary, Paul Graham
Kakaako Improvement Association, Steven Sullivan
Kamaaina Kids, Ed Silva
Kamehameha Middle School, Gail Vannata
Kamehameha Schools Key Club, Jenna Quindica
Kula Kaiapuni O Anuenue, Po'okumu Charles Na'umu
Life Guard Support, Paul Merino
Lyman Ranch, Koko Lyman
Lyman Ranch, Eileen Meyers
Malama Learning Center, Janice Staab
Malama Manoa, George Arizumi
Malama Maunalua, Kimo Franklin
Malama Maunalua, Tegan Hammond
Monsanto, Stacy Sasagawa
Nanakuli High & Intermediate School, Euvelyn Calma
Navy Region Hawaii Environmental Outreach Office, Tom Clements
New Hope Leeward, Jarrod Oda
Niu Valley Middle School, Darrah Brown
Oahu Resource Conservation and Development Council, Jean Brokish
Pacific American Foundation/Ka Wai Ola O Waianae Project, Leslie Kahihikolo
Palolo Valley Homes, Dahlia Asuega
Pearl City Lions Club, Dexter Aoki
Pride In Moiliili, Greg Cuadra
Puu Heleakala Association, Kevin Hart
Reawakening For Women, Liz Grote
RUSH G99, Dawn Aweau
St. Elizabeth's Episcopal Church, Rev. David Gierlach
Tamashiro Market, Cyrus Tamashiro
TJ Mahoney, Randi Barretto
USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, Jolene Lau
US Navy, Petty Officer Joshua Brown
US Navy, Chief Petty Officer James Wooten
Waialua High School, Virg Basilio
Waianae Intermediate School, Kristy Wagatsuma
Waikiki Aquarium, Dr. Andrew Rossiter
Waipahu Coalition, Rochelle Kalili
Waipahu High School, Sherry Wakumoto-Tenn
Weed and Seed Hawaii, Gale Braceros
Wild About Wilder

Board of Water Supply
Department of Emergency Management
Department of Information Technology
Department of Parks and Recreation
Department of Transportation Services
Department of Facility Maintenance - Honolulu Yard
Department of Facility Maintenance - Kailua Corporation Yard
Department of Facility Maintenance – Kaneohe Yard
Department of Facility Maintenance - Kapolei Yard
Department of Facility Maintenance - Pearl City Yard
Honolulu Police Department District 1 Community Policing Team
Honolulu Police Department District 6 Community Policing Team
Refuse Division - Honolulu
Refuse Division - Pearl City
Refuse Division - Waianae
Representative Karen Awana
Representative Karl Rhoades

View Archived Resource Page (contains postings through 2010)